Getting into Health Insurance Market

Dynnodave

I am new to the fourm and looking for advice. I sold health insurance years ago and am looking to get back into the game here in Indiana. I have studied ACA and non-compliant plans (short-term, etc) and want to do this independently and possibly build an agency down the road. I am looking for someone to work with to train me and help me be successful. It seems that the organizations I have talked to either don't have time, don't have experience or want me to write business through their agency. I don't mind working with a manager who gets overrides but I would like to be contracted directly with the insurance companies.

I am looking for someone to work with who is very familiar with ACA, what to do with small groups and also familiar with Medicare Advantage / med sups / MAPD and is currently writing business in the health insurance and/or Medicare market.

Thank you in advance!

you def dont want to sell aca plans in INDIANA to IFP folks, they expanded medicaid to folks making up to 17k, that kills a whole segment of the population.

you def dont want to sell aca plans in INDIANA to IFP folks, they expanded medicaid to folks making up to 17k, that kills a whole segment of the population.

I'm in a Medicaid to $17K state and consider it a blessing that I don't have to deal with the $10k to $17k crowd. Something must be wired different in the brains of really low-income adults when it comes to their health insurance mentality. So many negative stories from agents in non-expansion states regarding their $10k to $17K clients. Roughly 90% of my lapses have been from the $17k to $23K income clients. Can't imagine chasing down a $12k income guy reminding him to pay his $25 premium every month.

I take it that your clients in this income range are pretty reliable and stable, YGMM?