Getting Started in LTC insurance

dlvhi

Expert
Hello all

I am a new agent and looking for recommendations as to how to get a good overview of LTC insurance that will help me understand the process and product better.

With regard to life insurance, I found the Ben Baldwin book to be helpful to me in understanding the various products and options and am hoping there is a similar reference in long term care insurance.

I read the post from a couple of years back that recommended new agents read specimen policies from several companies. I think that is a good idea and actually had already started to gather that kind of material. However, I think I will understand the various contractual provisions better if I start with a better understanding of LTC insurance in general.

Also, I would really appreciate hearing any words of advice that members of this forum have for someone new to this field.

Thanks

One source I have found useful in learning about LTCI and selling it has been "Senior Market Advisor". It is a useful publication with a free subscription. However, I too would be interested in other useful references.

Hello xrac

Thanks so much for the response.

I have bookmarked the site you recommended and will be checking it regularly.

This board is pretty quiet, I get the sense that LTCi discussion may be more active elsewhere.

A couple of months back I thought I came across a pretty active board where agents were discussing LTCi, and the discussion was pretty active.
I may be mistaken, but I thought the board was visible to the general public but posting was limited to agents.

I may be wrong because I can't seem to find that site now.

If you or anyone else knows other sites where discussions like this occur, I would sure appreciate hearing about them.

Thanks

Dennis