Going Independent - Input, Please?

2112Greg

Guru
100+ Post Club
Hi All...I'm a noob here and have found this place to be a GREAT resource. Here are a couple of questions. I'm in Texas, I hold a Series 7, 66 and L&H license. I'm interested in going on my own after becoming disenchanted with my current situation. I'm 41 and have always had my own business (ever since college!), so the idea is what holds most appeal for me. I don't want to be captive any longer and feel absolutely trapped in my current gig (It's United American...I know, I know...but I like UA's Medicare stuff and that's all I market). Their health stuff doesn't thrill me at all.

My plans are to sell UA Med Supps to seniors who got screwed on Medicare Advantage plans and I'm working with a number of home health companies to 'convert' their clients over to good ol' Medicare supplements. That is working out very well.

My goal is to sell health policies, do financial planning/advisory and other financial services. I'm also thinking about getting my P&C license. But that's not firm yet.

I want to be on my own...entirely. I don't care about training, so much...I've got some good experience (about 4 years as an advisor/agent), but I need some direction on how to go it alone. I want to be out of the way of meddlesome managers who have no clue what they are doing. I really just want to not feel as trapped as I do right now...this sucks.

Which companies should I get contracted with? What are the typical expenses involved? Any other tips/secrets/ideas are more than welcome.

Thanks in advance!