Grant money

stepinf8th

I have a friend telling me because I am a woman I can get grant money to start my agency. I have looked online and see that some sites say yes you can and others say no you can't. Anyone out there done this before or can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks,
Christy

As a guy, I have no experience in womanly things.....
Check with the SBA, I'm sure it's through them. I've known several companies to be woman owned, even though they didn't participate in the business, just to work this type of angle. I do think there are some geographical restrictions, and restrictions on the type of business, but I really don't know much about it. It's been 10 years since I've even heard of this. Hopefully, we don't discriminate like this anymore :)

Dan

Christy, I seriously doubt in this day and age that they can discriminate because of gender unless it's some privately funded organization that was founded by a male chauvinist pig.:rolleyes:

Last edited:
I have no idea what grants are out there. Google "grant scams" and see all the issues of what not to do. Be careful. Who knows, maybe you will find the right place.

I have been involved in charities going after grants. It is quite a detailed process.

I have a friend telling me because I am a woman I can get grant money to start my agency. I have looked online and see that some sites say yes you can and others say no you can't. Anyone out there done this before or can you point me in the right direction?

Thanks,
Christy

Has your friend sought out financing for his or her company? I do know that their are grants and loans available for "certain" types of businesses, although I couldn't find anything related to insurance or financial services. Contact the SBA and SCORE and see what you find out.