Guaranteed Replacement Cost?

al123

Expert
Hey Everyone,

I'm fairly new to insurance, I just came across a prospect who insists that he has a "guaranteed replacement cost" for home insurance. He explained to me that if his dwelling amount is only at 250,000 and it took 1 million dollars to rebuilt then the company will pay out for the loss. However, I'm with a captive and we provide 125% for the dwelling. Does this coverage still exist, how would these companies profit if they have the guaranteed replacement cost.

What are the down side to this type of coverage. How can I convince him to switch over to a policy with 125%. He is just worried about the coverage amount and wants assurance that his home will be rebuilt no matter what?

Any suggestions?

I think Erie has an endorsement for guaranteed replacement. Safeco has a 50% extended coverage endorsement (at least they do here in IN).

I would explain how the replacement cost is calculated to assure him that there is sufficient coverage. And there is an additional 25% available should something cost more than anticipated. Not sur sweat else you can say. The good news for you is that for the most part, the competition can't do much better.

Imagine the additional risk a company takes on by having the word guaranteed in the contract...

Last edited:
He must be a Dave Ramsey listener. I have one carrier that offers up to 200% but none that are guaranteed replacement cost. Might want to look into Chubb but I doubt he can find it anywhere.

Hey Everyone,

I'm fairly new to insurance, I just came across a prospect who insists that he has a "guaranteed replacement cost" for home insurance. He explained to me that if his dwelling amount is only at 250,000 and it took 1 million dollars to rebuilt then the company will pay out for the loss. However, I'm with a captive and we provide 125% for the dwelling. Does this coverage still exist, how would these companies profit if they have the guaranteed replacement cost.