Have you been asked to pay for "pain & suffering"? How'd you handle this situation properly?

Sam Poole

I'm a health broker specialize in Medicare. What to do when a customer is upset at you and wanting to be compensated. I need guidance and advice on what to do to make sure all aspect of legality is covered so the problems are resolved and case closed. I'd appreciate if you could share some insight as this is my first time since I've been licensed 6 years ago. Thanks!

What to do when a customer is upset at you and wanting to be compensated. I need guidance and advice on what to do to make sure all aspect of legality is covered so the problems are resolved and case closed.

Immediately contact your Errors and Omissions insurance carrier and report the claim.

If you don't have E & O coverage, then hire an insurance defense attorney.

Forgive my bluntness, but you obviously have no clue how to handle this or you wouldn't be asking. You are in dangerous territory and risk being driven into bankruptcy and possibly losing your license. This is not a do-it-yourself project.

Why would they ask you for 'pain and suffering'?

This makes very little sense to me, must be my thick-headed day.....

I'm a health broker specialize in Medicare. What to do when a customer is upset at you and wanting to be compensated. I need guidance and advice on what to do to make sure all aspect of legality is covered so the problems are resolved and case closed. I'd appreciate if you could share some insight as this is my first time since I've been licensed 6 years ago. Thanks!

Yeah Sam, we're going to need a little more info on this. What did you supposedly do?

While I would love to know more as well, Adjusterjack is spot on. You should have contacted your E&O carrier as soon as a claim or potential claim arose. At this point you are behind the eight ball and may have impacted your coverage under the policy.