Have you heard of SIAA?

Rhinoguy

I am currently an exclusive agent and have been extremely succeful, however I am looking to switch to the Independant side. I see the benefit of both sides but I like the opportunity to receive 15% commision vs. 10%. This is obvoiusly significant long term. I have been speaking with a group called SIAA, they are a group that has about 12 carriers. Would anyone recommend joing a group? They do take a portion of your earnings. Are there any other groups you would or would not recommend? Thank you for all of your input.

Strategic Independant Agents Assoc. they have about 12 different P&C companys you can write deals through. Strictly P&C

With a successful track record I would think you could contract with a reputable regional carrier directly. Especially in this soft market situation. From what I learned in talking with SIAA, they will charge an up front franchise fee, a monthly service fee and basically a cut of the commission. We did not sign on with them for several reasons, but they do have a nice system for the right agency who needs carriers and can't commit to volume requirements.

I certainly would send out some feelers to some competitive regional carriers before I signed away a portion of my commissions.

With a successful track record I would think you could contract with a reputable regional carrier directly. Especially in this soft market situation. From what I learned in talking with SIAA, they will charge an up front franchise fee, a monthly service fee and basically a cut of the commission. We did not sign on with them for several reasons, but they do have a nice system for the right agency who needs carriers and can't commit to volume requirements.

I certainly would send out some feelers to some competitive regional carriers before I signed away a portion of my commissions.