Health Insurance Commission

Tonto

I'm an independent agent who is new to the Health insurance in NC. I am currently appointed with one company, but looking to expand. What I would like to know is the current payout structure: e.g. what percentage is reasonable and very good for the agent?
How much do the "marketing organizations" get from the health companies. Each company many be different, so what payout should I expect from a marketing agent for a Humana and Wellpath appointment.

Over the years I run across my share of insurance slime and I just don't want to get shortchanged from the "marketing organizations", and have found health insurance payout to be very small compared with my 100% life business. I am new to this forum and have search this topic and found little to nothing, hope I'm not breaking a "Cardinal sin"! As I have found the Insurance payout to be so taboo and secretive, no-one wants to be honest and tell you "HOW MUCH THEY ARE MAKING OFF YOUR WORK"!!!!!!!!!!!!
When I hear "see your up-line" I just feel like bending over, answers like that I just know I'm getting screwed.

Sorry, I just had to get that off my chest!

Please shed some light on my ignorance!

Thank you for your time.

Well health insurance is different the life insurance in the aspect that you usually get appointed straight through the carrier there are a few exceptions to that but the majority you did. Commission range for the most part 15% to 25% for most carriers.

it is starting to smell like spam in here.......

spamonBBQ-1.jpg

Last edited:
Tonto,
Try to get appointed with BC/BS of NC. From what I understand, they dominate the market in NC. However, I think you need a certain amount of experience for them to give you an appointment.

If you want to know what commissions are, call the carriers themselves and find out what they offer if you get appointed directly with them. Then compare that to what is being offered by these "marketing organizations" you're referring to.