Health Insurance for my Mother

lucho

Hello,

Here is my question. I am not very familiar with how health insurance and Medicare work so excuse my ignorance. I would like your input on what the best way to handle this scenario is.

I am a US resident, living in Colorado. I am not a citizen yet. My wife is a US citizen, she was born here. I am originally from Peru. My mother, who is 68 years old, still lives in Peru. She will soon get to an age where she will need a lot of attention. I would like to bring her over to Colorado to live here with me so I can take care of her. The problem I am having is in regards to health insurance for my mother. If she needs to go to the hospital it would cost a fortune without insurance. What are the options for her to get health insurance with decent coverage and not so expensive? With “not so expensive” I mean $200-$300 a month or less. I wouldn’t be able to afford more than that. I can petition her to come to the US and start the paperwork so she can become a US resident, if that makes a difference.

The questions are:

Being a resident, will she be able to qualify for Medicare since she is older than 65?
If not, are there any affordable options under Obamacare for this situation?
I have health insurance through my employer, for me and my family. Would my mother, who would live with me, qualify to be part of my plan?
Are there any other suggestions you may have?

Thank you. If you have any questions please let me know.

She would need to be a legal resident and she would have to pay for Medicare Parts A and B because she's not earned credits here. She could then look at Medicare Advantage or Medicare Supplements.

Since she would have to pay for Part A, I believe she would qualify to buy a plan on the healthcare exchange.

Good luck!

As long as she is legally here, she is required to buy health insurance.
As long as she is not eligible for medicare, she can buy an Obamacare policy.