Health Insurance Questions

Kaptan

I’m a permanent resident (non-U.S. citizen) returning in July, after a twelve-year absence as an expat in Turkey, UAE and Hong Kong (where my family and I are currently based). I’m an insurance professional myself (currently the regional head of product innovation for a European insurer for their Asia region), but having been away for so long, I can’t say I’m on top of things when it comes to health insurance in the U.S, especially with the changes that have happened with Obamacare in recent years.

I will not be transferring with my company, so the first order of the day will be to buy individual health insurance for me and my family. We will be based in New Jersey until I find new employment, which could be anywhere in the country. There are some things I find a bit confusing and was wondering if there are some health insurance agents/brokers here who can answer them:

1. Is there an advantage to buying from an exchange vs. from an agent? I believe with the ACA any plan launched since when the system first started last year would have to accept anyone with a pre-existing condition and they would not be able to charge higher premium for it either, whether or not that plan is bought from an exchange. Is my understanding correct? The only additional benefit I was able to see about the exchanges is that you can get it at a discounted price there. Is this correct, or are there other differences?