Health Zip Code Pricing

I'm new to the health biz and I find it amazing that premiums can fluctuate so much depending on the zip code of a families residence. I just finished comparing pricing between two neighboring zip codes and the average difference was 25%. Can anyone expalain the reasoning behind this.

I sat next to the head of the underwriting dep't for Assurant at their last conference and asked him that very question. The answer; a lot of factors.

*Access to the closest hospital
*Average price for treatments at that hospital
*Rating of the closest hospital
*Average price to see a doctor in your zip code
*Quality of doctors in your zip code

In MD you can live in 21122 zip code and you'd go to North Arundel - a good but average hospital. One zip code away and you're a Mercy Medical Center which is state of the art.

In one zip code doctor's average fee to see a patient might be $80. Another zip code it might be $110 and it all makes a difference.

I sat next to the head of the underwriting dep't for Assurant at their last conference and asked him that very question. The answer; a lot of factors.

*Access to the closest hospital
*Average price for treatments at that hospital
*Rating of the closest hospital
*Average price to see a doctor in your zip code
*Quality of doctors in your zip code

In MD you can live in 21122 zip code and you'd go to North Arundel - a good but average hospital. One zip code away and you're a Mercy Medical Center which is state of the art.

In one zip code doctor's average fee to see a patient might be $80. Another zip code it might be $110 and it all makes a difference.

What resource do you use to verify the quality of a hospital?

Forgot about the biggie - past claims experience. For whever reason is the average cost per patient is $180 in 21114 and $125 in 21113 then rates will reflect that.