Hello, about Progressive insurance

Selenge

Hello, all members!

I am so happy to found this community. I am very new in this industry (P&C) and trying to figure out where I should start. I am wondering if there is any way to sell progressive insurance without opening independent agency. Any information would be very important for me. Thank you for your time! By the way I am in IL, Chicago.

I'm not sure what you mean. You could go through a wholesaler or mga, but is there a reason you wouldnt go direct? Its not difficult to get setup and go direct?

Thanks, I mean even I am more interested in independent agent however opening an agency sounds little complicated. When I try to fill the progressive application for appointed agent, it required me to put an agency information. Would you mind to give me some tips to Become independent agent in Wholesaler or mga?

Starting an independent agency is easy, keeping it is hard.

The super basics are in the article that I have below. If you are brand new I would not recommend starting your own agency yet. Look up what independent insurance agencies are in your area and ask them if they have any openings for a commission only position. They will be able to guide you through what you need to know. Don't start out all on your own, you will make some costly mistakes.
How to Start an Insurance Agency | Insureon Solutions

Thank you so much for thw good information. I also agree, keeping it in good standing with right partner is important. Thank you.

Starting out as an Indy certainly can be tough without a safety net... and not everyone is the "right" person to run an agency. You can be great at insurance and bad at business or vice versa. The best will do both well. Doing research like this is a great first step!