Hello from S.E. North Carolina

gradyinsurance

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
Hello, I'm a new agent in NC, and am really glad to be joining the forum. I grew up in the insurance business (dad was a 30 year veteran), and have "inherited" the agency. He died a few years back, and my mom basically just kept it floating (not making any new production, just maintaining old business as best she could) until I got old enough to get a license, at which time she decided to pursue a new career path, and "Gave" me the agency. I have a small office in a small (500 pop.) town, and we are L&H only, mainly life. I also got about 2000 case files, maybe 50 of which are still active, and the newest of them are 8 years old (when my dad died). Most date back even farther, so they haven't been much help. I've been in business for 4 months, and so far, I've sold a couple of small life policies, (contracted with Genworth, Life Investors, & United American, working on more), made a little money, although gas on one of my cases ate up ALL of the commission:err:. But it was a case, and it was something to show for my work, so I guess it was a success. We bring in a little less than 1,000.00 per month in renewals/residuals, plus whatever new commissions I can bring in. I own the office, the utilities are cheap, I do not have E&O at this time (just can't afford it, but it does limit my choice of companies), I do at least have a car (2 actually), but they are oldies that my dad had (a 94 Lincoln and an 86 Mercedes), and although I don't have enough money to do better (and they are practically worthless), they are costing me an arm and a leg to keep running and to put gas in, so when I go on a call and it falls through, it really puts a drain on my finances. I'd like to get into the P&C Business, but everyone I've ever talked to about it made it seem impossible, unless you have worked for an agency for a while, something that I cannot do, because of my circumstance with trying to keep my dad's ol