Help a non-health agent - Group vs Individual

loginname

Expert
I am primarily a life agent, but have a client (age 27) looking for health insurance. She recently got married and had a baby. She was going to join her husbands group plan (he works for a small company), but they found out she and baby would add $565 per month to his premium. There is $1000 deductible, $2250 per person max, and $5000 family max.

Is it reasonable that she could buy an individual policy (with the baby added as a dependent) and save money over the group plan?

What health companies are good in Minnesota? I've used Assurant in the past jbecause their Regional VP was very helpful and I received good service.

Your thoughts?

If her health is good it is extremely common to break off dependents from group plans. The real questions are:

1. If this is an option (i.e. open enrollment) she might not be able to drop at this time, this varies drastically - check with the carrier.

2. If her health (and childs) is good enough to make it through individual underwriting. Even something relatively minor can be a major issue in underwriting.

3. I am not sure the individual maternity options in MN you hit on one state I do not service. Most individual maternity options are pretty crummy - maybe a MN agent can chime in, maybe BCBS of MN offers maternity. This is of course if she is planning on more children - she is only 27 this could be a strong possibility.

4. Price. For a $1000 deductible her and child, if the price is close - don't bother just keep the group, remember to factor pre-tax at work vs. after tax on the individual market.

Have fun!

1. She is dropping off her old employer's plan in 6 weeks. She is receiving severance right now.

2. Health is great on both.

3. She has told me that she wouldn't be getting pregnant again for at least 2 more years. Do most plans not cover pregnancy?

4. The Assurant RVP showed me a OneDeductible Plan that cost $220/month with $4000 deductible.