Help with Prospecting Technique

JimmehBone

Expert
My company has a product where businesses can get a whole life policy for their employees. This is a voluntary program, employees dont have to sign up for it. It has virtually no cost to the employer, anyone who signs up for it pays there premium. Im very new to the industry but this sounds like something that I would like to focus on. Any tips for prospecting and getting sales would be apreciated. Best approach, what to say, best business to go to etc. Hope everyones doing well. thanks

ive only been in this business for 2 years, so take my advice for what it is. diversify your offerings. Voluntary benefits, also known as worksite marketing was a territory that not too many brokers chose to travel due to the large renewal commissions on the health side. however with healthcare reform, that is changing the whole landscape and business that the health brokers used to ignore are now becoming part of their income strategy...

that being said, what i found to be the case was that 80% of the time it all boiled to one thing, relationship. I started out cold calling and while i did close a few deals i couldn't see how i could sustain doing that so i just used that money to join different organizations. as i made money through setting up deals through networking events, i then used that money to start going around to conventions and set-up tables. the most recent thing i did was join NAHU. so far I hooked up with 7 brokers and just closed my 12th deal for the month and we only do mid-size groups, 50+.