Help with Release Request from an Upline FMO

Columina

Hi,

I'm a Life/Health Producer and I'm new to my Medicare contracting. Recently, I joined a local FMO to write Medicare businesses. Now that Medicare enrollment period is behind me and I wanted to prepare myself for the next enrollment period with a different FMO.

I have heard that there is a 6 months hold that I can't write Medicare business from a carrier. Is this rule absolute or is there any other ways that I can avoid this? What's the etiquette of requesting a release?

I'd appreciate any help and suggestion.

Producer in ORegon.

Hi,

I'm a Life/Health Producer and I'm new to my Medicare contracting. Recently, I joined a local FMO to write Medicare businesses. Now that Medicare enrollment period is behind me and I wanted to prepare myself for the next enrollment period with a different FMO.

I have heard that there is a 6 months hold that I can't write Medicare business from a carrier. Is this rule absolute or is there any other ways that I can avoid this? What's the etiquette of requesting a release?

I'd appreciate any help and suggestion.

Producer in ORegon.

Congratulations. You've discovered the biggest secret in the industry. You never signed or agreed to a 6 month wait but you're held to it because of an agreement between carriers and marketers.

An honest marketer will simply give you a release that waives the 6 months. I know of several (Applied General Agencies, Bob Bever and others) that will never release.

It's one of the dirtiest parts of this industry. The only thing you can do is work with honest people.

Do you know that you can't get a release? Have you asked?

Rick

If you get released, then you dont have to wait 6 months (12 with MoO). But if no release, then you gotta wait. Just find some other companies to write in the meantime, and if you dont have any, just go sell some FE

The infamous release.