HIPAA Form and Getting Medical Records

standingtall

I would like to know what the process is for getting medical records.

After a client signs up for a life insurance policy, as an agent I would like to personally get the medical records from the doctor by going to the office or whatever the fastest method is.

What do I need to do this? Can I just provide the HIPAA form and pay whatever fees there are?

It seems like getting these records is a process that takes a few weeks and no underwriting can really be done without it.

standingtall,
I could be totally off base here but I don't think an insurance carrier will accept the records unless it comes from the provider directly or through a designated third party such as EMSI.

I've been doing some West Coast cases lately and all that's been involved is a tele-app interview and a para-med. No doctor's records.

standingtall, IMHO I think you would not nbe able to secure someone else's medical records because of HIPAA. Also,, I do not believe any insurer would accept records from an agent or any third party----only directly from the physician. I had an experience with one carrier where the applicant was denied life insurance coverage and they would ntell me the reason because of HIPAA. I finally did ascertain the reason from the applicant who was sent a letter of denial by the insurer.:cool:

Jesse -

I can assure you West Coast Life will order doc records when needed. Most life cases just require a paramed exam & lab work. If there are specific medical conditions, treatment for some kind of heart disease, cancer, etc. they will order doc records.

I have a life case in underwriting now. Been there for close to 2 months. The carrier wants to compare BP, PSA & cholesterol readings from the exam with doc records to see if there has been any change in his health.

Life cases usually take 2 months, sometimes longer. I figure every time I write a life case it will be 3 months+ before I am paid.

Not my idea of fun.