Hmmm, had a couple offers. What to do?

Survivor

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I am a captive life agent. I've been going out and seeing some of the major agencies in our area leading with the idea that I want them to get appointed to sell our products, and then I'm coming at the idea of allowing me to work their group health with supplementals from the back door.

That hasn't gone much of anywhere as these are big agencies that pretty much take care of everything and every line of insurance in house. I have, however, had a couple of job offers from these big agencies. One even offers vesting of your book after 5 years, with 20% vesting each year after until you fully own it. These weren't straight offers, but they kind of talked up their agency, how easy it is to cross sell their P&C customers, and suggested that if I was ever unhappy where I am at to come in and talk with them. One of the ones that is really a jam up agency here alluded to the idea that they wanted to access more of their customers on life, but they are too busy to deal with it right now.

Many of these agencies have people walking right into the office asking for insurance. I'm very tempted to do this, because all the prospecting I'd have to do would be accessing the P&C books and tell them that they can get a discount by getting their life with us in combination with their home and auto.

Are there any potential problems with this? I'm sure the grass isn't always greener.

Thoughts?

I've been told that there is more money outside of the captive agent market, I don't know how true it is. Ask them lots of questions, make sure that what they say is what they do.

If you are happy with where you are at that I don't see any reason in changing unless you know the next move would be one that improves your situation.