Home Based P & C New Agency

Roenick27

Expert
I've been a captive agent for a while now and it is time for a change. I am considering opening up an independent agency from an office, but also had the idea about starting from home 1st to try and drive some business in 1st and then make the move. Has anyone had any success operating primarily a p and c agency from home? Which companies (I know progressive will) will appoint you from home (can show them a number of years of profitable business/production).

I'd love to hear from anyone that has done this as if it is possible, I think it is the way I would be leaning. Also do you use a po box as your address or do you use your home address?

I've been a captive agent for a while now and it is time for a change. I am considering opening up an independent agency from an office, but also had the idea about starting from home 1st to try and drive some business in 1st and then make the move. Has anyone had any success operating primarily a p and c agency from home? Which companies (I know progressive will) will appoint you from home (can show them a number of years of profitable business/production).

I'd love to hear from anyone that has done this as if it is possible, I think it is the way I would be leaning. Also do you use a po box as your address or do you use your home address?

I'm gonna say 95% of carriers won't appoint you without an office. At least in california they wont...

Thanks guys. I know most won't. Progressive even asks if you have home/office etc I would only want to use a few carriers just to get some business rolling in before signing a new lease etc as well as having a company or 2 that I would have direct appointments with so I can have some complete ownership as well as joining a cluster. I'm basically just looking for a bit of "security" before entering into the independent side completely.

Last edited: