Home Purchase Closing Dates Always Changing

lhpgators

Expert
I'm a newer agent and I'm not sure if there's a "best practice" way to alleviate this. Recently I have been spinning my wheels because new home buyer's closing dates keep changing. I always ask for a firm closing date before binding but of course they always change. Is there a better way to deal with this?

BTW some of my carriers change bind date by quick endorsement change. But some of them are complete re-writes.

Thanks in advance

You don't submit a policy until it has closed. Put on your calendar the date its supposed to close and follow up after there closing appointment then submit.

Can you submit the business on the closing date? Or at least, wait till 3 days before when the closing date is usually pretty solid.

Keep in mind, for many carriers, its easier to delay the start date but to make the start date earlier is almost impossible, ending up in a re-write.

Overall though, this is part of the mortgage game. A lot of paperwork gets changed every time they change that closing date.

Dan

Its seems that the mortgage companies are requiring that they get proof of insurance and the invoice prior to the actual closing. None of the carriers I write with have those documents available until the policy is bound. Is that the same for you guys? Or are the mortgage companies you deal with ok with just a quote prior to the closing date?

I'm a newer agent and I'm not sure if there's a "best practice" way to alleviate this. Recently I have been spinning my wheels because new home buyer's closing dates keep changing. I always ask for a firm closing date before binding but of course they always change. Is there a better way to deal with this?

BTW some of my carriers change bind date by quick endorsement change. But some of them are complete re-writes.

Thanks in advance