How Do Agencies Seek Appointments?

rbadoux

Expert
I work as an for an MGA for our carrier. We have been looking to expand our market in the General Contractors industry. My question here lies with..

1. Are agencies normally the ones that approach the wholesalers?

2. What is the most eithical way for an MGA in california to market to brokers?

3. What do owners usually look for as regards to GL + bond appointments?

Note: This is not a solicitation, only seeking advice. Any marketing tips and strategies would be a great help!

thank you for reading.

I work as an for an MGA for our carrier. We have been looking to expand our market in the General Contractors industry. My question here lies with..

Note: This is not a solicitation, only seeking advice. Any marketing tips and strategies would be a great help!

thank you for reading.

Speaking from limited experience, it's a combination of both agents finding WS'ers and Ws'ers finding agts. I get emails all the time from wholesalers wanting us to market their program business. Usually they want loss ratios, volume, and agency structure/management.

I would look at the carriers that MGA's place business with; their financial standing, solvency, etc. Of course, how competitive they are with certain lines of business, what classes they favor, etc.

I only deal with one MGA because we have such a good relationship and they're competitive with most risks I send them.

I get emails and regular mail from MGA's sometimes. I largely ignore them, because if I needed their markets, I would probably have already contacted them. That said, there might be agencies out there who aren't aware your MGA even exists. I don't get mad about getting those solicitations, because I might need them one day, but I would guess you'll probably get the same response rate as any other mailer.

Thank you both for your quick responses, it looks like we just need to keep grinding and marking out products in hopes of yielding some results.