How do I begin as a Independent Agent in CA

the do

Expert
I'm a newbie in CA at Life and Health. I don't have any appointments with anyone yet. I'm looking for advice on who might offer appointments to new licensees with no exp. or book of business. I'm seeking to become an independent agent. i know this isn't the easiest way to begin but i still would like to give it a concerted effort. Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated

Welcome to the insurance business.

If you are doing life and health, here are my recommendations......

For Health Insurance contract directly with:
Blue Cross CA 1-800-678-4466
Blue Shield CA 1-800-559-5905
Health Net CA - 1-800-909-3447
Kaiser 1-800-789-4661

On individual & family health, write it direct on your own--most of these carriers will appoint you when you submit your first application. Your local regional sales manager can help you get started with each carrier. I would contact the RSM in your area for each carrier to find out how to get appointed and for help in selling intially. RSM gets paid on your individual sales so they will be glad to help you. Don't use a GA for individual sales since there is no GA override for IFP business.

For group health insurance, contract with a good general agency since group pays an override to GAs in California (no override on individual which is why you don't want to write it through a GA). Good group GA to look at are:

Word & Brown (Word & Brown Group Health Insurance Administrators, Inc.)
Benefitmall (www.benefitmall.com)
Dickerson (Dickerson Employee Benefits)
Warner Pacific (Redirect to: WARNER PACIFIC Home Page)

On the life insurance side, I work with a good GA called Brokers Allliance out of Fountain Hills Arizona. They can get you contracted with all of the major term houses. You might also want to get a broker contract with MassMutual to have access to good permanent products, DI and LTC.