How Do I Compare Compensation Between IMOs/FMOs/MGAs?

uberjer

Hello gurus,

I'm just getting started in the business and am initially focusing on Annuities and Life Insurance as an independent agent.

How do I compare compensation between the different agencies? What questions should I be asking so I can compare compensation?

This is my last sticking point in terms of being able to select a place to hang my hat.

Thanks for all your help thus far!
Jeremy

Hello gurus,

I'm just getting started in the business and am initially focusing on Annuities and Life Insurance as an independent agent.

How do I compare compensation between the different agencies? What questions should I be asking so I can compare compensation?

This is my last sticking point in terms of being able to select a place to hang my hat.

Thanks for all your help thus far!
Jeremy

I would worry less about who is offering the best comp. and compare who offers the best training/ prospecting help. Since you're just starting out, comp. should be lower on your list when choosing where to go. Once you become great at what you do and an expert in your field, you will pretty much be able to command whatever comp you want (within industry standards).

word to the wise...the more you make, the less an IMO answers the phone. As Tins said, focus on services and not comp--especially out of the gate.

And, who have you contacted that you are comfortable with? And why? that is your decision...not comp.

I would worry less about who is offering the best comp. and compare who offers the best training/ prospecting help. Since you're just starting out, comp. should be lower on your list when choosing where to go. Once you become great at what you do and an expert in your field, you will pretty much be able to command whatever comp you want (within industry standards).