How do I know when to leave independent agency and start my own ?

figdog

heres the deal. ive just started as an agent for an independant agency in town who has contracts with many carriers for p&c and life and health. currently it is a good deal because they take care of all overhead and i have no experience. all i do is prospect and close. my split is straight 50% on commission and renewals.

right now it works because i am barely building a book of business and couldnt afford the overhead of owning my own agency.

but at what point is it time to leave? how big of a book would i have to have to self sustain? i guess what im wondering is

1 - how good is this deal im getting? the better i get and the more money i make, obviously the less i need this person ... theyre getting 50% off my back

2 - for those here who own their own agency, how much of your gross commission/renewal goes to overhead? im trying to find that magic number. there has to be a number after which its all profit (for example ... it costs 100k to run your office, so after 100k, its all profit).

the 50/50 split works right now because she does everyting (employs staff, eo insurance, services policies), but im just wondering how much that is really worth. if i make 50k a year in renewals, i COULD be making 100k if i was on my own (or could i? would my overhead eat it up?)

basically im wondering whats more valueable .... giving away 50% not to have a headache, or being independant and keeping all of it (including the headache of running everything).

heres the deal. ive just started as an agent for an independant agency in town who has contracts with many carriers for p&c and life and health. currently it is a good deal because they take care of all overhead and i have no experience. all i do is prospect and close. my split is straight 50% on commission and renewals.

right now it works because i am barely building a book of business and couldnt afford the overhead of owning my own agency.