How do you “brand” yourself?

Advisor06

Guru
100+ Post Club
I am an independent agent and as many of you I am affiliated with many different companies on the life, annuity and P&C side. The issue I run into is I don’t want to seem “small” to my clients and prospects. An agent from NY Life, Mass, Etc use their main company as the brand which can help or hurt them but they have a corporation. How or what does everyone do to stand apart? Do you use your name “John Smith Insurance Planning” or do you have a DBA? From my understanding you can use your name without having to register it with the DOBI but I have kicked around creating a DBA but then I feel I lose myself. Any suggestions?

Some time ago I learned to PROPERLY ask for referrals. I am almost 100% referral now. They are free, and have an extremely high close rate.

There is no business name, logo, gimmick, tune, photo etc. that you can have that will be anywhere near as positive as someone hearing from someone they trust "use so and so. He took good good care of me, and knows his stuff" You could have the worst name and logo, and smell like actual cat poo, and you'd still run circles around your competition. Many of my clients don't know or remember or even care what the name of my company is. They sure as hell know who I am, and that I'll take care of them, though. I'm here on a Saturday trying to keep up with all the business. I don't even have time to worry about stuff like that.

Last edited: