How Do You Make It...???

Jerry Tibbs

Expert
Please Forgive a newby for the question....

I am a new agent....just licensed about 3mths.

Looking at the Health Insurance biz...and from my calculations....this is what it will cost me to be independant and sell Health insurance.

MTH COST
-$750 for leads (100 leads)
-$150 Novax, etc
About 1k per month total

Average Policy sold=$300 mth
My comm is 20%= $60mth

Have to sell....17 policies a mth to break even?

What am i missing?

That's pretty close. Little things like chargebacks, E&O, website costs and unexpected expenses (computer crash etc..) could change your numbers a bit, but not too much.

Re leads...at $7.50 each, the quality will be OK...but not great. Of course...at $12.50 you might run into the same thing.

Local advertising will be an expense but maybe worth it.

Well, if your month to month on commision your math is correct, but each month you will be adding on 17 policies so you should in theory be in the black $1000 by month 2 if you keep up that volume. But if you get advances then it becomes a much different game. If you are new I would also cold call a few hours a day to generate more lead volume and sharpen up your skills at the same time. Check out IHIAA for some tips and best of all the discounts on all the tools/leads you would need to make it in the business. I'm new myself but everyweek I get a better grip on the industry and the main thing I've learned is daily activity creates future rewards. If you arent keeping busy for 8 hours find a way to or you will fall off fast.