How Long Does It Take to Truly Make a Profit at FE?

I've been doing Final Expense with Equita for about three months, but the first month I didn't have any legitimate leads. Once the leads have started rolling in, I've had some decent success, my best week was somewhere around $4500 in annual premium written. Of course, not all of this was issued, and some of it was monthly pay by check, so it's not annualized commission.

Up to this point, I'm pretty much at the breakeven point, I haven't made much of a profit, and I'm wondering how typical this is.

How long does it take to truly make a profit in Final Expense?

Also, is all the annualized commission based on a 9 month annualization?

The $4500 week was a very good week. But, now I know that I can write that much premium in a week - I have it in me. I average less than that, though, but I'm working on it.

I do not know what your average week is but 4500 is very good some of the better agents do that. If you are on a 100% contract and 9 months advance you should be doing fine even with lead cost which should not be over about 500 or so a week maybe a little more if in a bad area. And yes most advances are 9 months.

Jim Sowder
Family 1st Insurance Brokerage
304-640-8914
[email protected]

The challenge you have with organizations like that is that there are guys producing $20,000+ per month that are struggling still because of low commissions (80%, 90%) with full lead costs. The commissions are only increased there after 3 months of consistent high production.

If you were to start out at 110%, for instance, you'd have a much faster return on your lead investment and greater return on investment right out of the chute. Oh, and the renewals (big factor) are MUCH greater when you're on a good contract! This means that next year you have NO LEAD COST because your leads are paid for by the residuals from last year!

CW