How Long to Become an Auto Insurance EXPERT?

CCWriter

Expert
Question for those of you who consider yourselves Experts in the field of qouting personal/commercial auto policies. Any tips on how you became and how soon it took you? I'm just starting out and my "niche" is mainly commercial fleet auto in Florida.

Question for those of you who consider yourselves Experts in the field of qouting personal/commercial auto policies. Any tips on how you became and how soon it took you? I'm just starting out and my "niche" is mainly commercial fleet auto in Florida.

I would estimate 5-10 years.

That's kind of like asking how long is a piece of string.

I would think that it totally depends on the person and how much time they want to dedicate to learning their trade. If an agent is working at it like a full-time job all day every day, studying at night then I would guess the knowledge will come fairly quickly.

When I first started it wasn't product knowledge that was the main stumbling block. It was how to deal with objections and how to present the information in a logical way that made perfectly good sense to my prospect.

Learn to identify all of the areas where people either have little knowledge or believe the common misconceptions about the product that they may have "learned" from their neighbor. Everyone knows that their neighbor knows more about insurance than the agent does. haha

It took me a while to educate myself in all the different scenarios that came up so I knew how to educate them if that makes any sense.

I believe regardless of what one is selling the basics are going to be the same. Being an expert to me is not only knowing the information but knowing how to present it in a manner the prospect can understand and identify with.