How Many EB Accounts Do You Have?

celtyliz

I'm an Employee Benefits Account Manager at a large agency in NYC. I manage 67 corporate accounts. I think my book is too big. How many accounts do you manage?

Depends on a few things. First, when you say account manager does that mean you are the only one responsible for the group? Or is their a sales person who is responsible.

Next, what types of group coverages? Are you talking all medical, or are some of them ancillary only? Are the medical smaller/fully insured larger/self-insured?

Assuming you do not have a sales person assigned to help you, and these groups tended to be fully insured and/or ancillary, I would say you do not have enough. If its the opposite I would tend to think you have the right amount, or thereabouts.

I am the only person that services the accounts. The producer (sales person) is responsible for bringing in the new business, but once the BOR is processed I take over the group, both service and account rounding.

The producer receives commission for the life of the account, I just receive straight salary.

The 67 accounts all have fully insured medical plus an additional 3 or 4 ancillary lines. The accounts are all under 100 lives.

Sorry, but short of some other facts or circumstances, that does not appear to be too large a load.

Celtyliz have you considered going into opening accounts. The pay can be much more as a producer although it is strictly commission based.

I am the only person that services the accounts. The producer (sales person) is responsible for bringing in the new business, but once the BOR is processed I take over the group, both service and account rounding. The producer receives commission for the life of the account, I just receive straight salary. The 67 accounts all have fully insured medical plus an additional 3 or 4 ancillary lines. The accounts are all under 100 lives.