How to give claims advice without being a claims adjustor

Hawaii Agent

Expert
I always have clients asking if XYZ is covered. How do you guys address this without it being viewed as claims advice? Is there a standard phrase that you use? I'm looking for help from the experts!

Take the customers info and you call the claims dept without identifying the customer if you are not sure. Dont know how long you have been an agent but you should have a sense of what is and what is not covered.

I've been an independent agent for 10+ years, but a lot of people ask preemptive claims questions. I get questions asked by prospects and I am trying to make sure that I'm not put into an E&O situation. I typically let them know that all claims are handled on a case by case basis, but I'm wondering if you guys have better phraseology that can get the point across that I'm not giving any claims advice

I've been an independent agent for 10+ years, but a lot of people ask preemptive claims questions. I get questions asked by prospects and I am trying to make sure that I'm not put into an E&O situation. I typically let them know that all claims are handled on a case by case basis, but I'm wondering if you guys have better phraseology that can get the point across that I'm not giving any claims advice

Understanding what will be covered seems easier than trying to navigate & be a psychic to figure out how filing a claim may impact their rate today. And then read the future as to what claims they may or may not have in the future & how they will impact premiums or discounts. That seems to be harder than the past along with figuring out or explaining how credit based insurance scores work or are calculated.

Coverages or claim what ifs seem to be the simple part of the business today. Sorry I was no help, but it struck me that pricing & algorithms are harder to understand & explain

I am not a P&C agent, but in my opinion, answering a "what if" claims question is a snake pit.