I am a new agent need advice on Companies

amymonica

I am a newly licensed health and life agent. I am undecided on who to work for either United American or work for a broker selling a new major medical product called Avalon here in Florida. I hear alot of negative things about U A help what should I do??

I have 20 years now, off and on. I went with UA twice, hoping to just blow in there and sell a few and get a management position and try and train some people to sell and do things right. Lost cause. The system they have is all wrong. The basic premise of their existence- is all wrong.

Run away from UA. And Paul (Moonlight) should be able to shed some light on Avalon - that's his back yard.

Ditto to UA - they run recruiting ads around here like it was goin' outta style! There must be a reason why....

As to Avalon - do both group and ifp. Specialize in HDHPs. Group better than IFP. Based here in Tampa. Real new - my fear is another Imerica.

I've done handful of IFPs with them. Nothing special, only marginally competitive in West Coast area from Tampa Bay to Ft Myers.

Biggest problem is lack of brand recognition...

The system they have is all wrong. The basic premise of their existence- is all wrong.

Couldn't have said it better myself...! :D

How UA stays in business is just beyond me. I spent a few months there and walked away amazed that they continue to stay in business. One GA I know writes UA on a 60% contract...SIXTY! And he still doesn't sell it.

Amymonica, I don't have any specific suggestions for going captive...but there are bound to be some good companies out there. UA just isn't one of them...you'd be doing both yourself AND your future clients a favor by not selling these products. I've got all kinds of nightmarish accounts where UA clients used their coverage and got shafted. May be due, in part, to douchebag agents misrepresenting the products...but it's also a crappy product. Flex + is a joke...and it doesn't come cheap, either!