I don't do business with "family"

Advensus

Hi - I'm a senior market insurance producer who's relatively new to LTC. I've spent most of time on med supps, dental plans, etc. I hate to admit that I haven't sold LTC yet but have presented a couple times. I recently received a text from my fiance's brother's wife stating that they would like me to recommend a long term care plan to them. What a pleasant surprise! After asking for a little bit of time because I literally just obtained a non-resident license in their particular state and have to look into plans....well tonight my fiance's brother called to inform him that he's going to be asking (me) for assistance with long term care. "Of course", I replied, "his wife has already told me that". My fiance then goes on to say that his brother said he "doesn't believe in doing business with family". Now, suddenly, it seems as though all he wants is my advice. This hit me like a stab in the heart. Supposedly he's gotten a quote from some financial advisor and expects to pick my brain about it. It would take me time to study just to even give him advice about it during my busiest time of year. I can't believe it: this hurts. I guess my partner's brother would rather give his business to some financial guy who's probably already at six figures rather than give someone like me a shot. I can hardly speak right now. Sure enough, I checked my email and this man just sent me a note & attachment of this advisor's long term care quote, supposedly with Liberty Mutual, and wants me to review it, asking "what flags or areas of concern should I look out for because I want to buy this for me and my wife". I do not know how to respond.

Be honest.

Tell him you are new to this and not in a position to offer much in the way of helpful information. Then wish him luck.

You have lost the sale already. No reason to try and get it back. This guy is going to waste even more of your time.