I Just Started at Primerica. Looking for Advice.

New

Yes. I've googled and read a lot about the good and bad things at Primerica. Below I will write down a list of pros and cons that I have come up with myself about Primerica.

Ultimately, I want to learn more about insurance and the financial industry while making a good amount of money and help people by doing so. I am pursuing a degree that will ultimately lead me to either become a financial advisor/analyst, actuary, and if I could maybe investment banking. Somehow my life and Primerica's crossed and I thought it would be a good opportunity to learn and possibly look good on a resume if successful. I know that it's going to be a lot of recruiting and prospecting at the same time, and I have had a lot of experience in networking so I don't see this as a problem (yet) and think I can be successful at both.

Now that that's out of the way, I will list things that I like and dislike about Primerica so far and in doing so I hope that you guys can help me add more things to each side to see if Primerica is a good fit for me or lead me to decide to do something else instead.

PROS
  • The people that own the firm seem very knowledgeable about the field and I think I can learn a lot from them as well as some other successful team members. They don't seem reluctant to answer the questions I have had so far and I don't know whether or not I could get the same type of mentoring at other "firms?"
  • I am free to reach whatever goals I want to. I don't have to have X amount of clients by N days unless I want to make more money or move up. (No one will yell at me for not getting clients) Although the only way I'll make money is to sell/recruit, I'd list not being yelled/pressured to work is relieving and will make me produce better numbers than being told that I have to