I Need Help with Marketing to Insurance Brokers

restrada27

I am a new insurance agent with Colonial Life and we market employee voluntary benefits to companies. I know that there are brokers that deal with companies and reccomend certain benefits to employers and employees. Does anyone have suggestions on how to market to insurance brokers and/or a script to present to insurance brokers? Your help is greatly appreciated.
Thank you!

Ralph

Most brokers are aware of your companies products and may or may not like them. If they aren't working with them now, there is probably a good reason why. My suggestion, candidly, would be to find a different way to earn a living. It's extremely unlikely you'll do anything but starve out of it, you might as well start looking now.

Most brokers are aware of your companies products and may or may not like them. If they aren't working with them now, there is probably a good reason why. My suggestion, candidly, would be to find a different way to earn a living. It's extremely unlikely you'll do anything but starve out of it, you might as well start looking now.

When I wrote for Colonial they had all sorts of good training material on this... and it was the responsibility of your manager to TEACH you how to sell to brokers.

I have to agree with MedicarePlanSolutions above that this is a difficult market... not because worksite has been hammered by the recession... but also because brokers are NOT going to let you into their groups until they really trust you... and if you make it worth their while... like giving up half your commission (which Colonial suggests.)

Brokers are afraid that you will either "steal" the client, or piss them off... and no one wants to take that chance.

I have a Colonial rep as well as an Aflac and a TransAmerica rep whom I trust and who will do a good job. They cold-called me, took me to lunch a few times and spent the time to create a relationship and show me some of their wares.