I'm Planning on Becoming an Agent.

SEMichigan

So I would like to become and insurance agent and eventually own an independent P&C agency. I currently work in sales in a separate industry.

I know I need my license and my question is would it be a logical for me to quit my current job get my license and then start my insurance job search or should I wait until I have an insurance job offer to quit my job and start the licensing process?

I ask this because I know the general advice is to never quit your job until you have the next one lined up but I have to think that in this case with education and licensing requirement maybe it would be OK. I have been told from one source it is much easier to get a job in insurance once you are licensed.

I am in my 20's recently out of school and living with my parents so I could easily afford a few months of not working while looking for a job.

Go ahead and get your license while working at your current job. That's just smart planning.

The only advantage to waiting, would be that many career agencies may reimburse you for your licensing costs and/or have discounts on prelicensing training.

Go ahead and get your license while working at your current job. That's just smart planning.

The only advantage to waiting, would be that many career agencies may reimburse you for your licensing costs and/or have discounts on prelicensing training.

I've considered that though how am I supposed to take my class if i'm working full time.

I've considered that though how am I supposed to take my class if i'm working full time.

If you have to ask, this might not be the right career for you.

(the answer is in your spare time... like at night or on weekends)

You arent going to have the chance to get paid until you are licensed. Once you are actually licensed, it will likely be 1-2 months before you get paid commissions (depending on the product and carrier).