I'm Sick of Sales - Yes, Really!

Sep 12, 2016

1. TampaHound

TampaHound Guru

State:
    Florida
    As I look back on my various jobs I've done since I've been 16...one thing sticks out.

A lot of them have been sales jobs.

Well I've not made myself rich, I've done okay. I own my home in a nice neighborhood. I own two cars and a motorcycle I love. I have money in the bank (but could always use more).

I got into life insurance by accident after I lost a corporate trainer job with 3M. Now after 2 years of being a phone jockey for a call center in Tampa, I want to do something different.

Most of my experience is in banking (over 10+ years) where I worked in lending and customer service. I have 2 years of insurance (inside) sales experience.

I've been a manager, a supervisor and a trainer.

My question is this....what do I need to know to get into claims or underwriting? I am 50 years old and am looking for a company that I can spend the rest of my days with. :GEEK:

2. pcbinsurance

pcbinsurance Guru

State:
    Florida
    Try USAA in Tampa. They just might train you in claims or underwriting.

It's worth a shot. They are a great company to work for and I enjoyed my time there.

3. Markthebroker

Markthebroker Guru

State:
    California
    USAA - great company. I second that.

4. bmarsh

bmarsh Super Genius

State:
    Florida
    Humana is also in Tampa, if thats where you live.

bmarsh, Sep 4, 2018
  5. somarco

somarco GA Medicare Expert

State:
    Georgia
    This thread is 2 years old.

Looks like Hound is still in sales.

But there may be others in his situation.

somarco, Sep 4, 2018
  6. Stephen

Stephen Guru

State:
    Arkansas
    How have the last 2 years been TH, did you get your mojo back?

Stephen, Sep 4, 2018
  7. TampaHound

TampaHound Guru

State:
    Florida