I'm studying for my exam and have some questions...

Spin

Expert
Phoenix
The study material says:

"Service Providers

Service providers sell medical and hospital care services to their subscribers, not insurance, in return for a premium payment. Benefits are in the form of services provided by the hospitals and physicians participating in the plan. They sell medical and hospital care services, not insurance. These services are packaged into various plans, and those who purchase these plans are known as subscribers."

Could someone please give an example of this? I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around this concept.

The study material says:

"Service Providers

Service providers sell medical and hospital care services to their subscribers, not insurance, in return for a premium payment. Benefits are in the form of services provided by the hospitals and physicians participating in the plan. They sell medical and hospital care services, not insurance. These services are packaged into various plans, and those who purchase these plans are known as subscribers."

Could someone please give an example of this? I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around this concept.

One thing making it confusing is what they are selling is "not insurance" but follow up by calling it a "premium payment".

Other than insurance, what other types of payment are referenced as a "premium"?

The study material says:

"Service Providers

Caveat, not an agent.

Direct Primary Care mentioned in these articles could be one thing your quote is referencing.

https://www.chicagotribune.com/business/ct-biz-membership-medicine-20180529-story.html

https://www.medicaleconomics.com/view/value-direct-pay-monthly-fee-physicians-and-patients

https://www.fastcompany.com/90610727/concierge-health-subscription-doctor-model