Increasing and Level DB

Jason Venecio

Hello. I'm a new IUL agent and I'm still trying to learn how IUL functions.

My questions is, when a client starts taking income distributions at a certain age, if their death benefit is set up as INCREASING, does it automatically switch to LEVEL? I seem to have noticed this on the illustrations.

I appreciate your responses.

My questions is, when a client starts taking income distributions at a certain age, if their death benefit is set up as INCREASING, does it automatically switch to LEVEL? I seem to have noticed this on the illustrations.

you are learning why so many IUL, UL, even some WL never materialize like originally illustrated years or decades earlier. most clients & even many agents believe the illustration is the actual policy contract. some clients & agents even say the policy sent at approval is wrong because the policy doesn't show the premiums stopping or the distributions coming out like the illustration showed.

However, the illustration is merely a dozen or more hypotheticals about when or how much premiums/deposits will be made, interest or dividends credited, when riders will be deleted, when face amounts will be reduced or like you mention if the death benefit option is changed to level from increasing or vice versa.

if anyone of these originally illustrated items doesn't actually get done, it can either be a minor issue or in some cases a catastrophic issue if never corrected for decades after planned.

IUL, UL & even max funding WL are a lifetime commitment by the client and agent to review every few years to adjust as needed. the problem is many of the original writing agents are not around in those later years to help micro manage or are unwilling to because they don't see any financial gain from helping clients maximize what they bought decades before