Independant Marketing Companies Verses Getting Appointed Yourself

Re: Independant Marketing Companies Verses Getting Appointed Your

What is the difference in going through an Independant Marketing Company (i.e insurance office) verses contaicting the carries difrectly and getting appointed individually?

A lot, especially for different lines. Do you mean P&C or L&H?

Assuming P&C it means the difference of being able to represent a company or not. In L&H it matters on the commissions you can get and the support that you can get.

Just L&H. Higher commissions going straight to the carrier? I had over 6 years in insurance business (captive agent) but it has been about 3 years since I was in the business, so I am not a complete newby...so, should i just go directly to carriers?

To get appointed with all of the carriers, it'll probably be a mixture of both. For example, some carriers in my state don't allow direct appointment, like my Blue Cross - I have to choose an agency.

Whether you go direct or through an agency:

1) Make sure you're getting "street level" commissions. Meaning, don't take a cut in commissions for going through an agency.

2) Get paid direct. It's not an issue when you're carrier direct but if you chose an agency make sure you're paid directly.

3) Releases. If you chose an agency make sure they'll offer a release upon request as long as you don't owe for advanced commissions.

Just my opinion but if you find an agency that gives you top comp, all carrier bonuses and you get paid direct, there are benefits you may get as opposed to appointing with 6 separate carriers. Support, training, higher comp based on your cumulative production, etc...

CJ pretty much covered it. I would also verify who "owns" the business should you leave the IMO. In other words, who has access to home office information and who owns the renewals.