Independent AAA Insurance Agency Owner?

Jan 3, 2019

1. johnkearnsagency

johnkearnsagency Expert

State:
    California
    Any one in the Carolina's have experience with AAA of the Carolina's independent agency owner opportunity?

I'm relocating to the Carolina's and looking into this and want to hear about any pros and cons.

2. jdlash

jdlash Super Genius

Will you represent any other carriers? Here in Michigan they have a program called the EA program (Exclusive Agent) Those agencies don't seem to last long. It's very challenging only representing only one carrier.

I have AAA through my agency and I am a true independent agent.

jdlash, Jan 3, 2019
  3. johnkearnsagency

johnkearnsagency Expert

State:
    California
    jdlash,

In the Carolina's it's known as the EIA (Entrepreneurial Independent Agent) program and are appointed directly to a broad portfolio of A-Rated carriers (example: Travelers, The Hartford, Metlife, SafeCo, etc.) and companies and not just to AAA owned and operated carriers and companies, so you can compete for personal, commercial, life, and health business. The carrier and company appointments are exclusively through the American Auto Club Insurance Agency (AACIA), much like if you joined SIAA or another agency cluster.

The Key Benefits:
    • No start-up costs (meaning no buy in or franchise fee like many clusters require or agency groups),
    • You own the economic interest in your book,
    • Supported by the AAA brand and team (training, software, agency management system, at no charge),
    • E&O provided at no charge, and
    • Co-Op Marketing support
    I was a Farmers agent in California for almost 5 years, before selling my book a year ago. The pitch very much reminded me how Farmers recruited agents before going to new model they use now.