Independent AAA Insurance Agency Owner?

Will you represent any other carriers? Here in Michigan they have a program called the EA program (Exclusive Agent) Those agencies don't seem to last long. It's very challenging only representing only one carrier.

I have AAA through my agency and I am a true independent agent.

I don't have any info on AAA, but where in the Carolinas are you relocating? If NC, Erie is selectively appointing, and is a great opportunity. Erie is not in SC.

Erie is a really good regional carrier, both in personal and commercial. However, they aren't interested in coastal areas, so I don't think they'll be a fit for you. Good luck with your search.

I spoke with them and they have a independent contractor where the commission is 10% on new and renewal. They also look to see that you have $75,000 of liquid assets available.

$75,000 liquid assets is a reasonable requirement, all things considered, and I personally wouldn't start something like that without more than $100,000 I could get to relatively quickly. They're doing agents a favor by requiring them to have at least some money in what's basically an emergency fund. I've seen so many people's businesses fail and they lost everything just because they didn't have the money to start it in the first place. Many years ago I was almost one of them, but that's another story. Anyway, that AAA thing is an interesting idea for someone wanting their own agency.

Update: