Independent Contractor Tax Write Off Question?

noah808us

Expert
Hawaii
If I am an independent insurance contractor I would need to file a 1099 or 1040 and pay 33% of my income to Uncle Sam. How much of that 33% can I write off for business expenses and do I need to pay 33% of my profits or revenues? Is there any other tax issues I should be aware of?

If I am an independent insurance contractor I would need to file a 1099 or 1040 and pay 33% of my income to Uncle Sam. How much of that 33% can I write off for business expenses and do I need to pay 33% of my profits or revenues? Is there any other tax issues I should be aware of?

One of my biggest expenses is my CPA. Last week I sold my arm on ebay to pay his fee. An invoice for a leg arrived today. I don't care...I don't even think about not using one anymore...

----------

In other words... their answers matter. Our answers mean little to nothing.

If you are a one man shop, why would you hire a CPA. You need a bookkeeper. You can also use many accounting software or hire a CPA for few hours and hire part time bookkeeper. I can see the need for CPA if you had a partnership and 10 employees, even then you need them for only few hours a year.

If you are a one man shop, why would you hire a CPA. You need a bookkeeper. You can also use many accounting software or hire a CPA for few hours and hire part time bookkeeper. I can see the need for CPA if you had a partnership and 10 employees, even then you need them for only few hours a year.

Not sure what you mean.

I wasn't implying that he was on my personal staff...

But his office takes care of everything, from our payroll (and all taxes associated with that) to bookkeeping to filings to paying (most) taxes (sometimes I still have to sign a check... most are automatic)...

----------

In addition to all of that, he also helps answer questions like the OP asked...