Independent Vs Prudential or Others?

steveb1956

Hi
I'm a relatively new agent and have been working with a "sleepy" brokerage firm.
They really just exist to attempt to extend their existing term Life clients.
I'm not really getting much support.
I AM getting lot's of experience making calls and am having a little success on small ( mostly term Life) sales
I really enjoy the business and would like to become a professional and grow in the direction of becoming more of a financial consultant
I'd like some input on the positives and negatives of joining an organization such as Prudential
Thanks

I'm with Prudential. It's great for Life Insurance, variable annuities, and mutual funds. I don't know of many agents who work much with individual stocks or bonds.

Training and everything is going to depend on the office and agency you're in. My training experience has been awesome, however I do wish I was trained better with prospecting. I was given tons of orphaned clients, but now I see that orphans don't last forever and weren't usually very good quality.

Learn all you can in the beginning.

Pru is not abad place to start get your 6, 63 & 65 on their dime. Some good basic training , Will emphasize the sale of var. annuity. No training on par wL products as they don't sell em. spend 1-2 years there if you like the office. LEARN to PROSPECT. It's a weakness of their training but the weakness is industry wide.
Alternately consider Combined-aflac-colonial in the short term. They are a different animal with inferior products mostly sold as voluntary benefits. The advantage of these places is you will learn to hunt quickly. You can then move on to better product shops or go indy.

Pru does have an expansive ( from my perspective at least) out brokerage. I can sell WL through MetLife, MOH, etc. These sales still count toward non core product bonuses.