Insurance Employment Quagmire...please Help

Hello, and thanks for the forum...

I am a NJ resident, licensed in P&C, with non-res licenses in PA and VA.

My continuing ed is caught up for now, and I am at a crossroads as to what I should do with my insurance career.

I used to work for an independent agency as a 1099. I had two good years there, selling mainly business insurance for small commercial accounts with incidental personal lines.

I was really just beginning to cut my teeth there when an opportunity in another (somewhat related field) came about. I jumped ship with the independent agency to explore this other career...which has kind of not worked out.

I am currently doing telemarketing for a totally unrelated field (home services) while my insurance networks are slowly drying up. While I am doing quite well in my telesales position, I am not altogether happy there. I cannot go back to the old agency as there was a commission dispute after I left which soured the relationship.

I have my resume and experience on Monster and also P&CInsurancejobs.com but haven't gotten much response other than what I consider spam-like solicitations from life companies I've never heard of.

I was recently approached by a Farmer's recruiter who is trying to get me to sign their reserve contract. I have a follow up meeting with the Farmer's rep this upcoming Friday. I have my reservations about the Farmer's opportunity, but at least it would allow me to get back into the P&C world.

I have considered going to work for a direct writer's agency (AllState, State Farm, etc.), but I really want to get back into Commercial Lines, not personal lines.

I am 36 and single. I have the flexibility of being able to relocate from the NJ area if the right opportunity came up.