Is It Time for Me to Leave this Agency?

JohnP1986

I’m currently a P&C agent with Brightway Insurance in Florida. I have been in insurance since January of this year and have had no prior sales experience before starting. Here is the issue I am having at my office. The agency owner has a very deceitful way of paying out commissions. Full details below.

Brightway Split
---New Business---
15% BW Take / 85% Office Take

---Renewal---
45% BW Take / 55% Office Take

---Rewrites---
30% BW Take / 70% Office Take

Since I was a novice, I guess it decided he could deceive me at the beginning which should’ve raised a red flag. After I initially signed the contract, the Agency Owner told me that Brightway will always take 50% of ALL commissions paid out by the carrier. He then tells me that he will take 10% and I will take 40% of the total commissions paid out by the carrier for that particular policy. I know this isn’t much at the beginning but after a while when my renewals start building up and my client base starts to become solid, I haven’t done the math but I think I will get severely screwed.

Now on the last couple months of commission payouts, now that I am starting to generate a decent amount of premium and policies per week the commissions paid out by my agency owner is all over the place. First the main issue is after everything is split he randomly takes a chunk out of the final payout to me. (Started doing that when I started to get a good amount of commission in). The amount is as random as it gets, sometimes it’s a large portion and others if I am lucky it is a small portion. When I confronted him about that he told me the accounting department from Brightway does this and that was the end of that conversation.