Is the grass greener?

Oct 31, 2018

1. sbg_ben

sbg_ben Expert

State:
    Michigan
    Hello,

I sell Medicare and Small Group employee benefits mostly. I stay very busy during the last quarter of the year and a bit into January but then for the rest of the year new business is very spotty.

I’ve been thinking to myself about trying to write some P&C in the off season because of all the free time I have. I also already have business and individual clients I could cross sell to.

I know quite a few P&C agency owners in the area and I think a few of them would be happy to let me write some business for them on a commission only basis.

I guess I am just wondering if anyone here has hired someone in that situation or if they have tried doing that themselves. Thanks

sbg_ben, Oct 31, 2018
  2. NCAgent828

NCAgent828 Super Genius

State:
    North Carolina
    Following this post. I’m with those agency owners and would love to do the same thing. I’m a small new agent so would love to here from others about their experiences.

3. NCAgent828

NCAgent828 Super Genius

State:
    North Carolina
    If you were licensed you could always go through MGAs so that you may have access to more carriers.

4. sbg_ben

sbg_ben Expert

State:
    Michigan
    I am not licensed in P&C yet but like I said business slows down pretty heavily in February and I could get licensed pretty quick. My L&H one only took 1 week of class and then a test and i'm sure P&C is similar.

How do I look into what MGA's are the best? I googled that and it came up with a bunch of strange things

sbg_ben, Oct 31, 2018
  5. NCAgent828

NCAgent828 Super Genius

State:
    North Carolina
    Ha!

I’m sure it did. Are you looking to do personal or commercial lines?

6. sbg_ben

sbg_ben Expert

State:
    Michigan