Is the grass greener?

sbg_ben

Super Genius
Hello,

I sell Medicare and Small Group employee benefits mostly. I stay very busy during the last quarter of the year and a bit into January but then for the rest of the year new business is very spotty.

I’ve been thinking to myself about trying to write some P&C in the off season because of all the free time I have. I also already have business and individual clients I could cross sell to.

I know quite a few P&C agency owners in the area and I think a few of them would be happy to let me write some business for them on a commission only basis.

I guess I am just wondering if anyone here has hired someone in that situation or if they have tried doing that themselves. Thanks

Following this post. I’m with those agency owners and would love to do the same thing. I’m a small new agent so would love to here from others about their experiences.

If you were licensed you could always go through MGAs so that you may have access to more carriers.

I am not licensed in P&C yet but like I said business slows down pretty heavily in February and I could get licensed pretty quick. My L&H one only took 1 week of class and then a test and i'm sure P&C is similar.

How do I look into what MGA's are the best? I googled that and it came up with a bunch of strange things

I am not licensed in P&C yet but like I said business slows down pretty heavily in February and I could get licensed pretty quick. My L&H one only took 1 week of class and then a test and i'm sure P&C is similar.

How do I look into what MGA's are the best? I googled that and it came up with a bunch of strange things
Ha!

I’m sure it did. Are you looking to do personal or commercial lines?

Ha!

I’m sure it did. Are you looking to do personal or commercial lines?