Is There a Catch when Healthspan(Kaiser) HSA Plan Has Only a $500 Deductible Because of Healthcare.g

tenyks

I have been searching online and in this forum. Can't seem to find an answer
about this question. The insurance company's customer service dept is closed
for the weekend.

I am searching for a decent health plan for my son. He just finished graduate
school and lives/works in Cleveland, Ohio.

Based on his income, he can buy this plan from Healthcare.gov with a subsidy.

$82/month
HealthSpanOne Silver 3000 HSA Plan A, $500 deudctible, $500 max OOP

Healthspan bought Kaiser in the area, so patients continue to use the same
Kaiser medical centers(just under different name). There is one just a short
2-minute walk from his apartment, which is why I think this is a good choice.

Almost all services are "0% after deductible" according to the
benefit highlights. I'm a newbie, so I'm unable to post link to the benefits
page, but you can see it buy searching with this exact quote on Google:
"HealthSpanOne Silver 3000 HSA Plan A"

The usual deductible is $3000 for this plan, hence the Silver 3000 name.
However, the those who qualify and buy from Healthcare.gov, the same
plan's deductible drops to $500.

Does this mean that he the most he will pay in a year is the $500 for all
covered services/drugs?

Thank you in advance for any replies! :)

Last edited:
Yes, it's called a cost sharing reduction plan that is attained at low enough income levels and only on silver plans. Yes $500 max on everything

----------

Find an agent. Chumps may help

----------

He's on this board........

Yes, it's called a cost sharing reduction plan that is attained at low enough income levels and only on silver plans. Yes $500 max on everything

So, instead of making sure that he has $3,000 saved in an account for medical needs, he now only need to keep $500 in there?