Is this a serious conflict of interest?

Nomadd917

I am currently an underwriter for a super regional carrier that uses the independent agency mod. I have been underwriting for 8 years with this company doing nothing but P&C insurance. I am contemplating starting to sell insurance for an independent agent part time during my free time to supplement my income and to possibly switch to sales full time if it works out and I develop a book to replace my current salary. The agency would also offer options to buy ownership of the agency down the road. My ultimate goal in insurance is to own and run an independent agency.

In my current underwriting position I do not have any sales responsibility at all, just typical underwriting duties. Review applications, review policies after claims, review endorsements, and build relationships with my assigned agents. i am assigned and work a territory that is almost a 1,000 miles from where I currently live and work.

The independent agency I would sell for does not have a contract or represent the company I work for in anyway. The offer for commission splits is extremely competitive and geared towards retention.

What sort of conflict of interest , if any, would this pose? Would this jeopardize my current job?

Thoughts?

I would love to see if your outlook on underwriting changes after taking a shot at the sales side of the business.

I really don't see the conflict unless you're selling in the same geographic area that you're currently underwriting for.

Keep it above board. Review any contract, employment agreement or employee handbook with your company. Make sure you aren't in breach of any.

Second, make sure that you are in no way using the information you gain through underwriting for the benefit of your sales career. Meaning, either avoid the lines of business you underwrite and/or the geographic area where the business comes from.