Just Started-Could Really Use Some Good Advice

jakcomp

I've just signed on with an MGA with his own agency. Being a total newbie in the insurance industry, without the benefit of knowing anyone personally within the industry to be able to mentor me, I'm not sure if I've taken the right route. I really need the flexibility of being able to set my own schedule as I am taking care of my elderly and ill father, single and need to make my own living. So I would need to be an independent agent as opposed to captive and being locked in to the requirement of being at the home office on a daily basis. Preferably, working from home would be so ideal. I, by chance, met this gentleman with his own agency and have talked to him only briefly concerning my role as a subagent under him. He has told me that he conducts his sales only on the phone and through the internet and that he does quite well in this manner. He purchases leads and his girls in office pre-qualifies them and he calls these leads, while on the phone with them, then goes to the back office over the internet with the appropriate insurance company, supplies the person with a quote and if the party requests brochures, etc. on the product, then he either faxes, emails or snailmails them a brochure and quote - then he follows up in a few days. He tells me that he will teach me to do this that it is relatively easy to make sales this way, however, it seems that his enthusiasm has waned since our first meeting - after all, he is very busy with his own business to run. So it only seems that I may be able to get only 4 hours of instruction per week at this rate. He has offered to purchase the remainder of this year's Errors and Omissions insurance for me, as the health insurance company I will sell requires that I have it. He also says that he will supply me with leads. I have asked him, but he seems so vague and does not really answer me, when I ask if after December will I then be required to purchase my own E&O insura