Kansas Insurance Broker - Questions about my personal Insurance

Hello friends. I am a Life/ Health Insurance Broker specializing in the senior market. Medicare Advantage and Medicare Supplements, some burial/ life insurance, etc.

I am 42, with one child. What is a good quality plan? Is there anyone who actually knows their stuff who can help me? I have a special election period with my Marketplace Coverage until March. I have a hard time accepting the maximum out of pockets on all the plans I have seen for a reasonable price.

Rule of thumb: The lower the premiums, the higher the out of pocket costs. The lower the out of pocket costs, the higher the premiums. Trying to out think that is a frustrating waste of time.

If you and your child are healthy, take the lowest premium plan you can find but put aside a cash fund to cover the out of pocket cost and don't touch the money for anything else. At least, that way, if neither of you get hospitalized (where you get the big co-pays) then you get to keep your money.

You might even consider using a tax deductible Health Savings Account for that money:

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p969.pdf

https://www.discoverybenefits.com/b...9-hsa-contribution-limits-released-by-the-irs

Rick and friends trashed and blocked every post I made trying to get KS ACA info from other forum members so I can't give you any agent feedback.

(And I am speaking from the "outside of Johnson County" viewpoint. If you are KC Metro you will have to compare Medica and whatever the other KC carrier is.)

If you search Medica Connect, you'll see what I came up with on them last year.
(Connect is the name they give their Kansas plan.)

There are two Medica Connect HSA bronze plans, I recommended the higher priced one to my wife last year over the blue cross plans because Medica appeared to have a broader network than Blue.

Medica got a bigger price increase than Blue this year. (Our plan went up $110.)